Navigation and service

Cooperation with OECD/NEA

The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is an intergovernmental organisation within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Its mission is to support a safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy. Under the leadership of the Steering Committee, there are seven specialised standing technical committees. Amongst them are

  • the Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities (CNRA),
  • the Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI) and
  • the Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC).

Experts of the BfE with experience in nuclear safety support the contribution of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit - BMUB) to the CNRA and attend to selected activities of the CSNI and the RWMC.

Schematic diagram CRNA

Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities (CNRA)

In the Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities (CNRA) senior representatives of nuclear regulatory bodies exchange information and experience.

The BfE supports the Federal Environment Ministry. Furthermore, it takes part in CNRA working groups such as the Working Group on Inspection Practices (WGIP).

Schematic diagram RWMC

Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC)

The Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC) is to support the NEA member countries in developing safe, sustainable and socially acceptable strategies in the handling of all types of radioactive waste.

Schematic diagram CSNI

Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI)

The Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI) co-ordinates the NEA activities on technical aspects of the design, the construction and the operation of nuclear installations, where they relate to the nuclear safety of these installations. The BfE serves as an observer during the meetings and is also active in various CSNI working groups and projects.

© Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management